A Rogaine Case Study

rogaine-foam1 Rogaine is one of the most popular hair loss treatment products on the market. It’s a product that has been around for years, with a fairly decent track record and a relatively limited amount of common side effects. It’s also become a popular buzzword when it comes to bald or balding guys and pretty much everyone is familiar with Rogaine, either from a joke or from one of their commercials. They have a large market and it’s clear that they are making money as they spend a lot of money on advertising. Many guys wonder if Rogaine is legitimate. Can it really stop your hairloss? The short answer is no, but I will explain in more detail in the rest of this post.

Rogaine does not stop you from going bald. What it does do is help you re-grow hair. Basically, you will continue to lose the same amount of hair, but Rogaine will step in and help your re-grow hair more rapidly so that you can try to keep up appearances. The problem is that as you become increasingly bald, Rogaine is going to run out of follicles to re-grow. Once a follicle is miniaturized, don’t expect Rogaine to come in and revive it. This is why their commercials are so misleading. They don’t tell you that the product does nothing to fight baldness. Really, all you are doing is running in place for a little bit longer.

I confess, I did try Rogaine, but I tried in conjunction with Propecia, a DHT blocker that is taken as a pill. Propecia helps stop hair loss at the source and together with Rogaine, this is a great one-two punch. The Propecia stops the hair loss at the root and the Rogaine helps re-grow the hair.

There was only one problem with this strategy. The Propecia produced awful side effects for me. I tried to endure them for a little bit (after all, I really didn’t want to lose my hair), but after a while it was too much. I asked my doctor (who originally prescribed me to Propecia) and he told me that I should stop taking the medication. After a couple of weeks, things started to get back to normal. I have since learned that some guys do not recover from some of these side effects, and to be honest, I would have been pretty miserable if that was the case.

Anyway, I stopped taking the Rogaine at the same time. It didn’t make sense for me to put Rogaine in my hair every day, because it wasn’t actually addressing the problem. It was just buying me a little bit of time. That idea, that you are doomed either way, is discouraging and I decided I would rather own up to my hair loss problem sooner rather than later. And hence the reason I shaved my head, which I will get to in a future post.

One thought on “A Rogaine Case Study

  1. Pingback: Don’t believe the hype | Confident No Matter What

Leave a Reply

